A Love Letter to Africville

The key is to focus on the positive things the community offered. These will be stories about happy things that people did as children, or how the community came together to overcome difficulties.

Author: Amanda Carvery-Taylor

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781773634364

Category:

Page: 80

View: 512

A Love Letter to Africville compiles personal stories and photos from former residents of Africville. Much has been written about the struggles of the Africville community, who have been hurt and discriminated against for so long -- but Africville is so much more than the pain. This book corrects the historical narrative and helps former residents heal by emphasizing the beautiful and positive aspects of Africville. Amanda Carvery-Taylor organizes captivating stories and stunning photography that express the love and importance of Africville.

Righting Canada s Wrongs Africville

A Love Letter to Africville. Black Point, NS: Fernwood Publishing, 2021. Clairmont, Donald H. and Dennis William Magill. Africville Relocation Report. Halifax: Halifax Institute of Public Affairs, Dalhousie University, 1971.

Author: Gloria Ann Wesley

Publisher: James Lorimer & Company

ISBN: 1459416511

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 96

View: 687

Beginning in the 18th century, Black men and women arrived from the U.S. and settled in various parts of Nova Scotia. In the 1800s, a small Black community had developed just north of Halifax on the shores of the Bedford Basin. The community became known as Africville and grew to about 400 people. Its residents fished, farmed, operated small retail stores and found work in the city. Jobs for Black people were hard to find, with many occupations blocked by racist practices. Women often worked as domestics and many men were train porters. A school and a church were the community’s key institutions. The City of Halifax located a number of undesirable industries in Africville but refused residents’ demands for basic services such as running water, sewage disposal, paved roads, street lights, a cemetery, public transit, garbage collection and adequate police protection. City planners developed urban renewal plans and city politicians agreed to demolish the community. Residents strongly opposed relocation, but city officials ignored their protests and began to seize and bulldoze the homes. In 1967, the church was demolished — in the middle of the night. This was a blow that signaled the end of Africville. In the 1970s, some community members organized and began working for an apology and compensation. In 2010, Halifax’s mayor made a public apology for the community’s suffering and mistreatment. Some former residents accepted this; others continued to campaign for restitution. This new edition documents the continued fight for compensation by community members and their descendants. The spirit and resilience of Africville lives on in new generations of African Nova Scotians.

Love Liberation and Escaping Slavery

Letters from George W. Putnam of Lynn, Massachusetts, to Wilbur H. Siebert (November 5, 1893 and December 27, 1893) and letter from David Mead of Saugus, Massachusetts, ... African Genealogical Society, The Spirit of Africville, 106–13.

Author: Barbara McCaskill

Publisher: University of Georgia Press

ISBN: 0820347248

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 132

View: 985

The spectacular 1848 escape of William and Ellen Craft (1824 1900; 1826 1891) from slavery in Macon, Georgia, is a dramatic story in the annals of American history. Ellen, who could pass for white, disguised herself as a gentleman slaveholder; William accompanied her as his master s devoted slave valet; both traveled openly by train, steamship, and carriage to arrive in free Philadelphia on Christmas Day. In "Love, Liberation, and Escaping Slavery," Barbara McCaskill revisits this dual escape and examines the collaborations and partnerships that characterized the Crafts activism for the next thirty years: in Boston, where they were on the run again after the passage of the 1850 Fugitive Slave Law; in England; and in Reconstruction-era Georgia. McCaskill also provides a close reading of the Crafts only book, their memoir, "Running a Thousand Miles for Freedom," published in 1860. Yet as this study of key moments in the Crafts public lives argues, the early print archive newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, legal documents fills gaps in their story by providing insight into how they navigated the challenges of freedom as reformers and educators, and it discloses the transatlantic British and American audiences changing reactions to them. By discussing such events as the 1878 court case that placed William s character and reputation on trial, this book also invites readers to reconsider the Crafts triumphal story as one that is messy, unresolved, and bittersweet. An important episode in African American literature, history, and culture, this will be essential reading for teachers and students of the slave narrative genre and the transatlantic antislavery movement and for researchers investigating early American print culture."

Africville

Vibrant and lyrical, filled with colourful details and told in a powerful, haunting voice, this extraordinary novel—as atmospheric and steeped in history as Any Known Blood, The Known World, George & Rue, The Underground Railroad, ...

Author: Jeffrey Colvin

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 1443458481

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 983

For readers of Lawrence Hill and George Elliott Clarke, a ferociously talented writer makes his stunning debut with this richly woven tapestry. Set in the small Nova Scotia town of Africville, settled by former slaves, Jeffrey Colvin depicts several generations of one family bound together and torn apart by blood, faith, time and fate. A richly woven story, structured as a triptych, Africville chronicles the lives of three generations of the Sebolt family—Kath Ella, her son, Omar/Etienne, and her grandson Warner—whose lives unfold against the tumultuous events of the twentieth century, from the Great Depression of the 1930s, through the social protests of the 1960s, to the economic upheavals of the 1980s. A century earlier, Kath Ella’s ancestors established a new home in Nova Scotia. Like the lives of her ancestors, Kath Ella’s is shaped by hardship as she struggles to conceive and to provide for her family during the long, bitter Canadian winters. She must also contend with the locals’ lingering suspicions about the dark-skinned “outsiders” who live in their midst. Kath Ella’s fierce love for her son, Omar, cannot help her overcome the racial prejudices that linger in this remote, tight-knit place. As he grows up, the rebellious Omar refutes the past and decides to break from the family, threatening to upend all that Kath Ella and her people have tried to build. Over the decades, each successive generation drifts farther from Africville, yet they take a piece of this indelible place with them as they make their way to Montreal, Vermont and beyond, to the deep South of America. As it explores notions of identity, passing, cross-racial relationships, the importance of place and the meaning of home, Africville tells the larger story of the black experience in parts of Canada and the United States. Vibrant and lyrical, filled with colourful details and told in a powerful, haunting voice, this extraordinary novel—as atmospheric and steeped in history as Any Known Blood, The Known World, George & Rue, The Underground Railroad, Homegoing and The Book of Negroes—is a landmark work from a sure-to-be major literary talent.

Born with a Call

13 Letter from R.B. Grant . City Development Office to D.F. Maclean , Halifax Advisory Committee on Human Rights , Halifax , June 19 , 1964 ; " Report : P.F.C. Byars to Members of the SubCommittee of Council on Africville and the ...

Author: Colin A. Thomson

Publisher: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia : Black Cultural Centre for Nova Scotia

ISBN:

Category: Baptists

Page: 157

View: 254


The Gendered Screen

... 133; Mansfield Park, 16, 127, 132–33, 136, 139n17; Montreal Vu Par, 131; Passion: A Letter in 16 mm, 129–30, 135; ... 151–52; as compensation for motherly love, 149–50; displays of in Pool's films, 151–52, 153, 155, 157 Sanders, ...

Author: Brenda Austin-Smith

Publisher: Wilfrid Laurier Univ. Press

ISBN: 9781554581955

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 282

View: 692

This book is the first major study of Canadian women filmmakers since the groundbreaking Gendering the Nation (1999). The Gendered Screen updates the subject with discussions of important filmmakers such as Deepa Mehta, Anne Wheeler, Mina Shum, Lynne Stopkewich, Léa Pool, and Patricia Rozema, whose careers have produced major bodies of work. It also introduces critical studies of newer filmmakers such as Andrea Dorfman and Sylvia Hamilton and new media video artists. Feminist scholars are re-examining the ways in which authorship, nationality, and gender interconnect. Contributors to this volume emphasize a diverse feminist study of film that is open, inclusive, and self-critical. Issues of hybridity and transnationality as well as race and sexual orientation challenge older forms of discourse on national cinema. Essays address the transnational filmmaker, the queer filmmaker, the feminist filmmaker, the documentarist, and the video artist—just some of the diverse identities of Canadian women filmmakers working in both commercial and art cinema today.

Canadiana

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Canada

Page:

View: 663


Plays International

This is a world , like ours , where love , sex and death are inextricably linked . ... Mary , engaged to a soldier she discovers has died , gets his last letter from the front but can't read it because the postmistress thinks it must ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Performing arts

Page:

View: 879


Blacks in Canada

First published in 1971 by Yale University Press. This second edition includes a new introduction outlining changes that have occurred since the book's first appearance and discussing the state of African-Canadian studies today.

Author: Robin W. Winks

Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN: 077351631X

Category: History

Page: 546

View: 269

Hailed as the most sweeping history of African-Canadians ever written when it first appeared, The Blacks in Canada remains the only historical survey that covers all aspects of the Black experience in Canada, from the introduction of slavery in 1628 to the first wave of Caribbean immigration in the 1950s and 1960s.

Fire on the Water Early and modern writers 1785 1935

Letter : Woman to Man . " Unpublished short story , 1991 . ... Africville . Multicultural Women In Concert , MWIC , 1986 . -Freedom to Love . Aural Tradition Records , ATRC 302 , 1989 . - Sistership . M.W.I.C. Records , 11162 A , 1987 .

Author: George Elliott Clarke

Publisher: Porter's Lake, N.S. : Pottersfield

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 178

View: 995