Blueberries for Sal

Will each mother go home with the right little one? With its expressive line drawings and charming story, Blueberries for Sal has won readers' hearts since its first publication in 1948.

Author: Robert McCloskey

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101654813

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 701

What happens when Sal and her mother meet a mother bear and her cub? A Caldecott Honor Book! Kuplink, kuplank, kuplunk! Sal and her mother a picking blueberries to can for the winter. But when Sal wanders to the other side of Blueberry Hill, she discovers a mama bear preparing for her own long winter. Meanwhile Sal's mother is being followed by a small bear with a big appetite for berries! Will each mother go home with the right little one? With its expressive line drawings and charming story, Blueberries for Sal has won readers' hearts since its first publication in 1948. "The adventures of a little girl and a baby bear while hunting for blueberries with their mothers one bright summer day. All the color and flavor of the sea and pine-covered Maine countryside."—School Library Journal, starred review.

Blueberry Sal

Author:

Publisher: In the Hands of a Child

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 527


Blueberries for Sal 6c Cntr Disp

Author: Robert McCloskey

Publisher: Viking Children's Books

ISBN: 9780670013517

Category:

Page:

View: 495


Blueberries for Sal Blueberry Muffins Recipe

Blueberries for Sal by Robert McCloskey (Puffin Books,1948) One summer day in
Maine, a bear cub and a girl named Little Sal wander away from their blueberry-
picking mothers. When Little Sal and the cub grow tired, they each sit down in ...

Author: Sharon Draznin

Publisher: Teacher Created Materials

ISBN: 1480773190

Category:

Page: 4

View: 584

Cooking projects provide a highly motivating, real-life application for learning. This child-friendly recipe is based on a piece of children's literature. Read the book, and then collaborate to make this delicious food to enjoy together.

Time of Wonder

. ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal.

Author: Robert McCloskey

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0451481852

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 149

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! For fans of Blueberries for Sal, One Morning in Maine, and Make way for Ducklings. "Out on the islands that poke their rocky shores above the waters of Penobscot Bay, you can watch the time of the world go by, from minute to minute, hour to hour, from day to day . . ." So begins this classic story of one summer on a Maine island from the author of One Morning in Maine and Blueberries for Sal. The spell of rain, the gulls and a foggy morning, the excitement of sailing, the quiet of the night, the sudden terror of a hurricane, and, in the end, the peace of the island as the family packs up to leave are shown in poetic language and vibrant, evocative pictures.

Involving Parents Through Children s Literature

(New York: Viking Children's Books, 1948) STORY SUMMARY Sal and her
mother go out to pick blueberries. Sal wanders off to the other side of the hill
where she meets a baby bear. The baby bear ends up following Sal's mother,
and Sal ...

Author: Anthony D. Fredericks

Publisher: Libraries Unlimited

ISBN: 9781563080227

Category: Education

Page: 86

View: 704

Contains activity sheets based upon popular children's books, designed in a convenient format so that they can be taken home by children. Each sheet includes a summary of the book, discussion questions and a list of learning activities for adults and children.

Suggested Books for Indian Schools

McCLOSKY , Robert - Blueberries for Sal . Viking 1.b. , 3.00 net Mother and Sal
pick blueberries . Sal eats . Mother Bear and Baby Bear pick blueberries . Baby
eats . Humor in the parallel situations . Int . B - 4 R. 2-4 --- Make way for ducklings
.

Author: United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Children's literature

Page: 136

View: 224


Children s Literature Review

... among the blueberries on Blueberry Hill , ” [ from Blueberries for Sal ] and you
can see how these two books are similar . Like Robert McCloskey , Kevin Henkes
has used this structure of parallel construction to build a story that is predictable ...

Author: Tom Burns

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787680398

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 238

View: 443

Presents full-text literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, monographs, reviews, and scholarly papers.

The Art of Reading

BLUEBERRIES FOR SAL by Robert McCloskey 16 • The Art of Reading be
Ashley Wolff Ashley Wolff remembers picking wild blueberries with her mother as
a child growing up in Vermont . We love some books because they let us
experience ...

Author: Reading is Fundamental, inc

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

ISBN: 9780525474845

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 96

View: 646

Provides a collection of forty illustrations picked by the nonprofit literacy organization Reading Is Fundamental in order to celebrate the power and joys of reading in young children and includes works by Henry Cole, Mary Azarian, Lois Ehlert, David Kirk, David McPhail, Jerry Pinkney, Chris Raschka, and so many others.

A Field Guide to the Classroom Library

Robert McCloskey Illustrator Robert McCloskey Book Summary Little Sal and her
mother go to Blueberry Hill to pick blueberries . At the same time , Little Bear and
his mother are eating blueberries on Blueberry Hill . Little Sal gets caught up in ...

Author: Lucy McCormick Calkins

Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 320

View: 168

Noted teacher/author Lucy Calkins and a team from The Teachers College Reading and Writing Project Community have created the most comprehensive and accessible leveled lists and guides for nearly 1,200 children's trade books.

Integrating Learning Through Story

The teacher who developed the Blueberries for Sal unit is representative of those
who have not developed a true sense of linkage between the goals of learning
and what learners actually do on a day - to - day basis . One consequence is that
 ...

Author: Carol Lauritzen

Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 351

View: 757

This book is an excellent reference source for those interested in alternative curriculum designs. It offers teachers and curriculum planners a theoretical framework for organizing learning experiences that are consistent with goal-based, holistic integration and constructivist learning theory.

One Morning in Maine

A Caldecott Honor Book!

Author: Robert McCloskey

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101654821

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 62

View: 761

A Caldecott Honor Book! Today is a specidal day for Sal because she gets to go to Buck's Harbour with her dad. But when she wakes up to brush her teeth with her baby sister, she discovers something shocking.... Her tooth is loose! And that's just the start of a huge day!

McCloskey

In this book, McCloskey's daughter looks at the range of his work from both chronological and geographic perspectives, discussing the styles of his work and his own attitudes about art.

Author: Jane MCCLOSKEY

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781608939589

Category: Art

Page: 264

View: 620

Primarily known only for his immensely popular children's books, such as Make Way for Ducklings and Blueberries for Sal, Robert McCloskey was first and foremost an artist and produced a large body of paintings and other artworks in addition to his sketches and illustrations for kids' books. McCloskey's art was usually influenced by where he lived, and he lived a lot of places, from Maine to Mexico and New York to Europe and the Caribbean. In this book, McCloskey's daughter looks at the range of his work from both chronological and geographic perspectives, discussing the styles of his work and his own attitudes about art.

Holidays for Dull Days

Blueberry Month Did you know that some blueberries are actually black , that a
blueberry can be as small as / 4 in . ( 6 mm ) or ... Story Time Share the story
Blueberries for Sal by Robert McClosky ( Viking , 1948 ) with the children .
Extension ...

Author: Marilee Woodfield

Publisher: Instructional Fair

ISBN: 9781568225296

Category: Creative activities

Page: 128

View: 422

The unique activities in this book serve as springboards with will stimulate and foster creativity in young writers.

How to Stop Sexual Harassment in Our Schools

Author: Robert J. Shoop

Publisher: Allyn & Bacon

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 282

View: 990

How Serious Is the Problem? Unfortunately, some educators still think sexual harassment is not a real problem for their students. To counter this view, the authors include information from recent surveys in which 4 out of 5 students reported that they have been the target of some form of sexual harassment during their school lives. Of those students, one in four reported being targeted "often." These victims often feel helpless and hopeless; many carefully plan their activities in order to avoid their harassers. Surprisingly, much of the harassment students experience is initiated by other students - in high school, junior high, and middle schools, even in elementary schools (including the lower grades). That's why the authors believe it's critically important for every school district to have a formal plan for eradicating sexual harassment.

More Story Stretchers

Author: Shirley C. Raines

Publisher: Gryphon House Incorporated

ISBN: 9780876591536

Category: Education

Page: 254

View: 795

Shows how to use such children's books as "Are You My Mother?" "A Pocket for Corduroy," and Ezra Jack Keats's "The Snowy Day" as a basis for activities in writing, art, science, and math.

This Way to Books

Dutton , 1967 . McCloskey , Robert . Blueberries for Sal . il . by author , Viking ,
1948 . Mosel , Arlene . Tikki Tikki Tembo . il . by Blair Lent , Holt , 1968 .
STORYTELLING MATERIALS Tin pail and “ blueberries ” for use with Blueberries
for Sal .

Author: Caroline Feller Bauer

Publisher: Hw Wilson Company

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 363

View: 122

Suggests ways to use storytelling, programs, book talks, poet readings, games, crafts, and exhibits to get children interested in reading

Scholastic Literacy Place All together now

READ WITH EXPRESSION TALK ABOUT IT THINK ABOUT IT Share the Read
Aloud Read B/uebern'es for Sal with expression, emphasizing the sounds of the
blueberries being dropped into the tin pail and the characters' dialogue. Although
 ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780439078795

Category: Language arts (Elementary)

Page:

View: 728


Robert McCloskey

Jill C. Wheeler. McCloskey's daughter Sarah was the model for Sal in Blueberries
for Sal. The Importance of Art Burt Dow was the last book. 19.

Author: Jill C. Wheeler

Publisher: ABDO

ISBN: 9781604533569

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 805

Traces the childhood, education, and career of children's literature author and illustrator Robert McCloskey.

A Multimedia Approach to Children s Literature

The Nightingale , ” “ The Steadfast 49F Blueberries for Sal , Morton Tin Soldier , ”
“ The Princess on the Pea , ” Schindel , 1967 ( 17995 ) 16mm and “ The Fairies ” (
Toads and Dia9min color $ 120 , $ 5 . WW monds ) beautifully told by Mary ...

Author: Ellin Greene

Publisher: Chicago : American Library Association

ISBN:

Category: Children

Page: 182

View: 889