Open Road

“We didn't even make it to the bottom before catastrophe!” I leaned over and put
my hands on ... A calendar of the United States National Parks was pinned to the
wall across from my position of surrender on the table. I turned my head on the ...

Author: TW Neal

Publisher: Neal Enterprises INC

ISBN: 0989688399

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 715

Fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods, and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love will enjoy author Toby Neal’s road trip travel memoir of self-discovery as she and her husband journey through the National Parks! I had a dream to live a “normal” life and I attained it; but along the way, I lost myself. My story began in Freckled: a Memoir of Growing up Wild in Hawaii, but it continued after I married the man of my dreams, completed my education with multiple degrees, had a successful career, and raised two beautiful children. I sacrificed to get to where I was. Though I didn’t regret anything, flat on my back in the doctor’s office on the cusp of my fiftieth birthday, my health was crumbling. I no longer recognized myself. I turned my head and saw a calendar on the wall: Bryce Canyon National Park in Utah beckoned me with its mysterious sandstone hoodoos. A road trip traveling through the National Parks was just what I needed to rediscover the girl I’d been; it could help me turn a corner into my new career as a writer, and my husband would enjoy a chance to photograph the natural wonders we saw. Sometimes, a twelve-thousand-mile road trip is also a personal quest.

Bogus Science

Their claims are bolstered by those magic words: "scientists say." This book asserts that the record of such claims shows that they should be taken with a large spoonful of skepticism.

Author: George MELLOAN

Publisher: Lyons Press

ISBN: 9781493043644

Category: Science

Page: 272

View: 392

Credulity can be expensive. So don't believe everything you hear. It's a good lesson to teach in this modern era in which the communications revolution allows scores of hopeful persuaders to bid for our attention daily, trying to sell us a product, a service, their qualifications for public office or the proposition that our very lives depend on taking their advice. Opinion shapers have learned that their chances of getting attention increases in proportion to the size of the catastrophe they promise if we don't heed their warnings. Thus, in our modern era, we learn that unless we act now, the entire planet and all the life it bears is at risk. Their claims are bolstered by those magic words: "scientists say." This book asserts that the record of such claims shows that they should be taken with a large spoonful of skepticism. Credulity not only can cost a great deal of money, but in some notable cases it has cost lives.

Vera

Together they navigate their way beyond disaster. In Vera, Carol Edgarian creates a cinematic, deeply entertaining world, in which honor and fates are tested; notions of sex, class, and justice are turned upside down; and love is hard-won.

Author: Carol Edgarian

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 150115754X

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 581

New York Times bestselling author Carol Edgarian delivers an astonishing feat of imagination, a grand adventure set in 1906 San Francisco—a city leveled by quake and fire—featuring an indomitable heroine coming of age in the aftermath of catastrophe and her quest for love and reinvention. Meet Vera Johnson, the uncommonly resourceful fifteen-year-old illegitimate daughter of Rose, notorious proprietor of San Francisco’s most legendary bordello and ally to the city’s corrupt politicians. Vera has grown up straddling two worlds—the madam’s alluring sphere, replete with tickets to the opera, surly henchmen, and scant morality, and the violent, debt ridden domestic life of the family paid to raise her. On the morning of the great quake, Vera’s worlds collide. As the shattered city burns and looters vie with the injured, orphaned, and starving, Vera and her guileless sister, Pie, are cast adrift. Vera disregards societal norms and prejudices and begins to imagine a new kind of life. She collaborates with Tan, her former rival, and forges an unlikely family of survivors. Together they navigate their way beyond disaster. In Vera, Carol Edgarian creates a cinematic, deeply entertaining world, in which honor and fates are tested; notions of sex, class, and justice are turned upside down; and love is hard-won. A ravishing, heartbreaking, and profound affirmation of youth and tenacity, Vera’s story brings to life legendary characters—tenor Enrico Caruso, indicted mayor Eugene Schmitz and boss Abe Ruef, tabloid celebrity Alma Spreckels—as well as an unforgettable cast that includes Vera’s young lover, Bobby, protector of the city’s tribe of orphans, and three generations of a Chinese family competing and conspiring with Vera. This richly imagined, timely tale of improbable outcomes and alliances takes hold from the first page, gifting readers with remarkable scenes of devastation, renewal, and joy. Told with unflinching candor and wit, Vera celebrates the audacious fortitude of its young heroine and marks a stunning achievement by an inventive and generous writer.