The Burning Land

'Gripping' Guardian 'Pacy and stylish' Jeremy Vine 'It was never meant to be like this.

Author: George Alagiah

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 1786897954

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 441

'Gripping' Guardian 'Pacy and stylish' Jeremy Vine 'It was never meant to be like this. Sabotage, yes. Propaganda, yes. All of that and more - but not this. Not murder.' South Africa has become a powder keg. Its precious land is being sold off to the highest bidders while the country's corrupt elite pocket the profits. As the dreams and hopes of its people are threatened, frustration turns to violence. With the shocking murder of one of the country's bright young hopes, the fuse is well and truly lit. Conflict mediator Lindi and her childhood friend Kagiso find themselves in the heart of the chaos, fighting to save themselves and their country as events are set in motion that no one - least of all they - can control.

Shore of the Burning Land

A collection of poems by Shady Shakra

Author: Shady Shakra

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781545430231

Category:

Page: 156

View: 892

A collection of poems by Shady Shakra

The Burning Land

When the Empire of Arsace suffers political and spiritual tensions in the years following its freedom from oppression, the beautiful Axane journeys to a hidden world that threatens her homeland, while the young Shaper Gyalo leads a ...

Author: Victoria Strauss

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780380817726

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 862

When the Empire of Arsace suffers political and spiritual tensions in the years following its freedom from oppression, the beautiful Axane journeys to a hidden world that threatens her homeland, while the young Shaper Gyalo leads a dangerous expedition to reclaim a band of renegade mages. Reprint.

The Burning Land

His passion for a local girl is his salvation until her family takes up arms against the British, and they are forced to treat each other as enemies... Elizabeth Darrell is the penname of Emma Drummond, born in 1931.

Author: Elizabeth Darrell

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781973245421

Category:

Page: 410

View: 396

An unforgettable tale of anguish, courage and divided loyalties set against the Anglo-Boer War at the turn of the century. A commission in a regiment he despises, and marriage to a virtuous woman who wants only his name and wealth - those are his father's conditions for saving Alex Russell from scandal and bankruptcy. Brutally rejecting his fianc�e, Alex sails for South Africa with the Downshire Rifles and fights for moral and physical survival during the prelude to the war. His passion for a local girl is his salvation until her family takes up arms against the British, and they are forced to treat each other as enemies... Elizabeth Darrell is the penname of Emma Drummond, born in 1931. Her father was a member of the British Army stationed in Hong Kong, where Drummond spent the early years of her life. As well as writing books, she worked in the Women's Royal Army Corps.

Digest of Evidence Taken Before Her Majesty s Commissioners of Inquiry Into the State of the Law and Practice in Respect to the Occupation of Land in Ireland

They sow the rape this year , and Burning land . the next year they pull it to put it
on the potatoes . They sow it in August , and pull it up next May . W. Hamilton ,
esq . , land agent , Queen's county . 869 , Q. 6 . With respect to the burning of
land ...

Author: Great Britain. Commission of Inquiry Into Occupation of Land in Ireland

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Agriculture

Page:

View: 656


Digest of Evidence Taken Before Her Majesty s Commissiones of Inquiry Into the State of the Law and Practice in Respect to the Occupation of Land in Ireland

They sow the rape this year , and Burning land , the next year they pull it to put it
on the potatoes . They sow it in August , and pull it up next May . W. Hamilton ,
esq . , land agent , Queen's county . 869 , Q. 6 . With respect to the burning of
land ...

Author: Great Britain

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Ireland

Page:

View: 780


Digest of Evidence taken before Her Majesty s Commissioners etc By J P Kennedy With a prefatory notice by the Earl of Devon

They sow the rape this year , and Burning land . the next year they pull it to put it
on the potatoes . They sow it in August , and pull it up next day . W. Hamilton , esq
. , land agent , Queen's county . 869 , Q. 6 . With respect to the burning of land ...

Author: Great Britain. Commissioners of Inquiry into the State of the Law and Practice in Respect to the Occupation of Land in Ireland

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 786


Report from Her Majesty s Commissioners of Inquiry Into the State of the Law and Practice in Respect to the Occupation of Land in Ireland

Manures : sea - weed and burning land ; efforts made to prevent burning , failed ,
8–10 . An agricultural society recently established , 11 : facilities afforded to
tenants for procuring seeds from , 12. A superintending agriculturist employed by
Sir ...

Author: Great Britain. Commissioners of inquiry into the law and practice in respect to the occupation of land in Ireland

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 55

View: 290


Reports from Commissioners

Produce on the coast , destroyed in bad seasons , 9 . Manures : burning of land
prohibited , and penalties for enforced , 58 . Clendining , Agt . & c . 468 . -
Manures : sea - weed and burning land ; efforts made to prevent burning , failed ,
8 – 10 .

Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 557


The Burning Land

Author: John Fletcher

Publisher: Momentum

ISBN: 1743342586

Category: Fiction

Page: 654

View: 748

That land out there has been burning me as long as I can remember. All these years I've been getting ready for this moment. I'm going out there to take hold of it ... Raised by struggling Scottish immigrants in the sparsely inhabited mountains of the Port Phillip District, Matthew Curtis dreams of the vast unexplored spaces of inland Australia. Defying his stern foster-father, he leaves home — and the warm, grey eyes of Catriona Simmons — at sixteen. His journey takes him first to the brawling life of the goldfields with the beautiful Janice Honeyman, then north into the burning wilderness of the unexplored outback. An engrossing historical saga in the tradition of Evan Green and Wilbur Smith, The Burning Land bursts with life and the passion and daring of Australia's pioneers.

North German and Netherlandish Popular Traditions and Superstitions

THE BURNING LAND - MEASURER . A land - measurer near Farsum had in his
life - time acted dishonestly . When he had a piece of land to measure , he
suffered himself to be bribed by one or other , and then allotted to the party more
than ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 350

View: 554


Narrative of the Burning of the Sarah Sands Screw Steam Ship with the Head Quarters of H M 54th Regiment on Board

Many must have looked with sorrowing gaze on their native land for the first time
receding from their view , a land which not a few would never again behold ; but
mingled with this was an impatient longing to bring assistance to our countrymen
 ...

Author: Frederick Schlotel

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Shipwrecks

Page: 29

View: 502


The Holy Bible

( 21 ) Or when the flesh Thathi in the skin ' thereofi a burning by firel , and the
quick flesh Tof the burning becomel a bright spot ... lit hath ' broken out lin ' the
burning : land ' the priest shall pronounce him unclean : it is ( 26 the plague of
leprosy .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 104


Beyond the Burning Lands

You must have good leather in the land of the Wilsh.” The peddler shook his
head. “I threw away the ones I wore. They were well-nigh scorched through.” “
And your horse? Did you have spare hoofs for him?” “No, sire. But I made him
boots of ...

Author: John Christopher

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 148141996X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 133

Luke encounters rage, treachery, and revenge in the second book in the post-apocalyptic Sword of the Spirits trilogy from the author of The Tripods series. As the Prince in Waiting, Luke has been protected by the High Seers since his father’s murder and his half-brother’s ascension to the throne of Winchester. But after hiding for months in the underground Sanctuary, Luke discovers a shocking secret: in a world where mechanical devices have been forbidden, the Seers themselves are secret technologists. Now restless, Luke seizes the chance to explore the world around him. His quest leads him to unimaginable dangers and unexpected delights...but the most dangerous part of his journey awaits him at home.

The Irish Jurist

1 , An Act whereby distresses nicious practice of burning land , and for the more '
n for rent may be sold . ... 13 , An Act for explaining amendrain upon the lands of
them holden , and to make ing , and making more effectual the laws relating to ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Law

Page:

View: 637


Star land

When the sun is hidden by clouds the burning ceases , so by preserving each
day the piece of paper , we have an unerring tell - tale , which shows us during
what hours the sun was shining brightly , and the hours during which he was
hidden ...

Author: Robert Stawell Ball

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Astronomy

Page: 376

View: 833


Reports from Select Committees of the House of Lords and Evidence

It is not stated when this burning took place ? Four years before , I believe . 154 .
Lord Stanley of Alderley . ] Do you know an instance in which the penalty for
burning land has been recovered from any person on the part of the Crown ?

Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Lords

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 769


The Golden Lamp Or Sketches Upon the Historic Scenes Truths and Characters of the Bible

... and carried off the key ; " and after three years and six months he returned
again , and on the height of Carmel kneeled down and prayed , till the heavens
grew black with clouds and the rain came down in torrents upon all the burning
land .

Author: J. B. C. Quillian

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bible

Page: 150

View: 172


Agricultural Pamphlets

First, as to the season: it was one which, in regard to all other crops, was
singularly favourable for the burning land in question. The wheat grown close at
hand was almost the only good piece on the farm ; the adjacent barley was
unusually ...

Author: Augustus Voelcker

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Agriculture

Page:

View: 435


The Origin and History of the Doctrine of Endless Punishment

to the statutes of Moses; to the time the Jews were to possess the land of Canaan
; to the mountains and hills; and to the doors of the Jewish temple. We see the
word forever applied to the duration of a man's earthly existence; to the time a
child ...

Author: Thomas Baldwin Thayer

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Future punishment

Page: 280

View: 812