The Great Brain

In a small town in turn-of-the-century Utah, a precocious ten-year-old boy hatches scheme after scheme to gain prestige and money. Reissue.

Author: John Dennis Fitzgerald

Publisher: Great Brain

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 175

View: 302

In a small town in turn-of-the-century Utah, a precocious ten-year-old boy hatches scheme after scheme to gain prestige and money. Reissue.

The Return of the Great Brain

This sixth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Author: John D. Fitzgerald

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0425290026

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 150

View: 307

This sixth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Tom Fitzgerald, better known as the Great Brain, is struggling to stay reformed now that his friends have threatened to shut him out if he pulls even one more swindle. But his younger brother J.D. knows Tom's reformation makes for a dull life, and is not altogether unhappy--or blameless--when his brother's money-loving heart stealthily retums to business as usual.

The Great Brain

“What is wrong with using my great brain to make money?” he demanded. “You heard your father say yesterday that everybody would be admitted to see the water closet,” Mamma said. “I do not recall your father saying only adults would be ...

Author: John D. Fitzgerald

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0425289974

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 192

View: 200

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old. Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit. When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day. Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

The Great Brain Reforms

“Tom says his great brain did it,” I said. Seth Smith patted me sympathetically on the shoulder. “Pa always said that sooner or later people with great brains end up in the insane asylum,” he said. All the fellows wanted to see what a ...

Author: John D. Fitzgerald

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0425290018

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 165

View: 820

This fifth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. It's summer vacation, and J. D. is determined to reform his older brother Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, from his money swindling ways for good.

The Great Brain Debate

Recent studies on the maturing brain provide us with new ways of thinking about the issue and I will emphasize them in this chapter. I begin by noting several important themes with regard to neuronal, synapse, and circuitry maturation.

Author: John E. Dowling

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400841380

Category: Science

Page: 200

View: 769

Whether our personality, intelligence, and behavior are more likely to be shaped by our environment or our genetic coding is not simply an idle question for today's researchers. There are tremendous consequences to understanding the crucial role that environment and genes each play. How we raise and educate our children, how we treat various mental diseases or conditions, how we care for our elderly--these are just some of the issues that can be informed by a better understanding of brain development. In The Great Brain Debate, the eminent neuroscience researcher John Dowling looks at these and other important issues. The work that is being done on the connection between the brain and vision, as well as the ways in which our brains help us learn new languages, are particularly revealing. From this groundbreaking new research, Dowling explains startling new insights into how the brain functions and how it can (or cannot) be molded and changed. By studying the brain across the spectrum of our lives, from infancy through adulthood and into old age, Dowling shows the ways in which both nature and nurture play key roles over the course of a human lifetime.

The Great Brain Race

In any case, as I argue in these pages, research discoveries don't remain within the borders of the countries where ... Unfortunately, however, another constant since publication of The Great Brain Race is the ambivalence provoked in ...

Author: Ben Wildavsky

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 140084200X

Category: Education

Page: 272

View: 426

How global competition for the brightest minds is changing higher education In The Great Brain Race, former U.S. News & World Report education editor Ben Wildavsky presents the first popular account of how international competition for the brightest minds is transforming the world of higher education--and why this revolution should be welcomed, not feared. Every year, nearly three million international students study outside of their home countries, a 40 percent increase since 1999. Newly created or expanded universities in China, India, and Saudi Arabia are competing with the likes of Harvard and Oxford for faculty, students, and research preeminence. Satellite campuses of Western universities are springing up from Abu Dhabi and Singapore to South Africa. Wildavsky shows that as international universities strive to become world-class, the new global education marketplace is providing more opportunities to more people than ever before. Drawing on extensive reporting in China, India, the United States, Europe, and the Middle East, Wildavsky chronicles the unprecedented international mobility of students and faculty, the rapid spread of branch campuses, the growth of for-profit universities, and the remarkable international expansion of college rankings. Some university and government officials see the rise of worldwide academic competition as a threat, going so far as to limit student mobility or thwart cross-border university expansion. But Wildavsky argues that this scholarly marketplace is creating a new global meritocracy, one in which the spread of knowledge benefits everyone--both educationally and economically. In a new preface, Wildavsky discusses some of the notable developments in global higher education since the book was first published.

The Great Brain Suck

The invasion of the body snatchers, in short, has actually happened; only it was corn fused to the megatechnic complex that ripped open a new niche: the industrial eater, BIG Zombie, capable of eating more and more.

Author: Eugene Halton

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 0226314677

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 771

More and more information is pumped into our media-saturated world every day, yet Americans seem to know less and less. In a society where who you are is defined by what you buy, and where we prefer to experience reality by watching it on TV, Eugene Halton argues something has clearly gone wrong. Luckily Halton, with scalpel-sharp wit in one hand and the balm of wisdom in the other, is here to operate on the declining body politic. His initial diagnosis is bleak: fast food and too much time spent sitting, whether in our cars or on our couches, are ruining our bodies, while our minds are weakened by the proliferation of electronic devices—TVs, computers, cell phones, iPods, video games—and their alienating effects. If we are losing the battle between autonomy and automation, he asks, how can our culture regain self-sufficiency? Halton finds the answer in the inspiring visions—deeply rooted in American culture—of an organic and more spontaneous life at the heart of the work of master craftsman Wharton Esherick, legendary blues singer Muddy Waters, urban critic Lewis Mumford, and artist Maya Lin, among others. A scathing and original jeremiad against modern materialism, The Great Brain Suck is also a series of epiphanies of a simpler but more profound life.

The Great Brain Is Back

“Because this is going to be the greatest spelling bee ever to take place in Adenville,” Papa said. ... “When I win The Great Bee, nobody will think it's because you're the judge. They'll know it's because of my great brain.

Author: John D. Fitzgerald

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0425290042

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 983

This classic trickster is back again, and he's up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Tom D. Fitzgerald--better known as The Great Brain--has turned thirteen, and pretty Polly Reagan has put a spell on him. But when it comes to swindling his younger brother J. D., and all the other kids in Adenville, Tom hasn't changed a bit. The Great Brain is back one more time, and he's at the top of his form with his money-making schemes and getting into big trouble. As always, life is more exciting when this brain's around!

The Great Brain Robbery

He listened carefully as Frankie told him about the mindsweepers and the computer laboratory at Marvella's headquarters where they turned children's brains into billboards. 'OK,' said Wes, 'I think we can do it.

Author: Anna Kemp

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1471117979

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 530

Frankie and his pals are back and trying to save the world from another diabolical scheme by the evil Dr Gore. This time he's planning to infiltrate the dreams of children everywhere using his army of robot toys! Can Frankie and his friends stop him before it's too late?

The Great Brain Robbery

seemed to glow with an inner fire, except for the pupils, which were large and black as night. A hunter's eyes. Suzy drew her head back before they could pinpoint her, and waited for the sound of the figure's footsteps to approach her ...

Author: P.G. Bell

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1474974686

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 350

View: 453

Join Suzy for her highly-anticipated second journey in The Great Brain Robbery, the sequel to the Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted The Train to Impossible Places. Suzy can't believe her luck when a secret invitation magically appears – the Impossible Postal Express is ready to ride again! But the celebrations don't last long when Trollville is hit by a terrible tremor, putting everyone in danger. With the city in peril, a race against time begins from the magical Cloud Forge to the Uncanny Valley to catch the villain behind this dastardly plan. Will the Impossible Postal Express help Suzy get some answers?