The Loving Cup

A Novel of Cornwall, 1813-1815 Winston Graham. of G R A H A M OLDARK, The
Loving Cup COMPANION To - THE SERIES, Th. MASTERPIECE. THE LOVING
CUP A NOVEL OF CORNWALL, 1813-1815 WINSTON GRAHAM. Front Cover.

Author: Winston Graham

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN: 1250244757

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 233

The tenth book in Winston Graham's classic Poldark saga, now a major TV series from Masterpiece PBS. Cornwall 1813 A silver cup lies half-forgotten in a dank cave, amongst a pile of stolen goods. Yet the tiny vessel and its inscription Amor gignit amorem haunts the lives of the still-feuding Poldark and Warleggan families, as Ross, Demelza and the ambitious and powerful Sir George Warleggan watch their children make the decisions that will shape their destinies. In the closing years of the wars against Napoleon, for Jeremy and Clowance, and for arrogant, cynical Valentine Warleggan, these are troubled and momentous times . . . In his Poldark series, Winston Graham explores the complications of love lost and the class struggle of early 19th-century England with a light comic touch. The Loving Cup is followed by the eleventh book in the series, The Twisted Sword.

History of the presentation of the Loving Cup

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 94

View: 924


The Loving Cup

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539836X

Category: Fiction

Page: 253

View: 190

An impossible love. A grisly murder. A hunt for justice. Paul Doherty's novel The Loving Cup, brings Restoration London to raucous life amid a compelling love story and murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy. Samuel Atkins is deeply in love with Maria Eleanora, a beautiful young woman from the court of Queen Catherine. But Atkins is a poor clerk, and Maria Eleanora a foreigner, so their love must remain a secret. When an important judge is found murdered, Samuel Pepys' followers are suspected, and Atkins is arrested. Suddenly, Maria Eleanora realises that to save her lover and discover the hideous truth behind the crime, she must thread her way through both the treacherous alleys of London and the murky and murderous politics of those seeking to destroy the king. Based on historical events, The Loving Cup not only probes one of the great murder mysteries of English history but also recounts a love story as passionate as it is secretive. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment' 'A compelling tale of historical fiction that exudes accuracy and detail' 'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

The Loving Cup

Author: Wilbur Dick Nesbit

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Quotations

Page: 64

View: 296


The Loving Cup

want to pass the cup along while I'm alive to have the fun of it . I want it to stand
on ... It's your cup , Doctor , an ' if that's what you feel to do with it SEVERAL
WOMEN . It's all right , I say . MRS . ... It's what they call a loving cup . It's passed
round ...

Author: Alice Brown

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 24

View: 253


The Loving Cup

cup. shimmered. on. the. window. ledge. as. the. moonlight. fell on it . To April the
cup seemed , as always , to be waiting ; to be ready for the filling . She knew that
she was smiling in rather fool . ish pleasure as she walked toward it , her bare ...

Author: Allan Prior

Publisher: Pan

ISBN:

Category: Nineteen sixties

Page: 380

View: 308


The Poisoned Loving cup

Author: Charles Grant Miller

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Great Britain

Page: 208

View: 726


A Random Act of Kindness

He unveils his trilogy through the narrative entitled A Random Act Of Kindness, a combination mystery/thriller/suspense, with a heavy heaping of romance. The first novel of the trio is The Loving Cup.

Author: Mitchell Jackson

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781418404284

Category: Fiction

Page: 436

View: 412

Mitchell Alexander Jackson's contemporary thought, in response to the "change" brought on by a "change" of the U.S. administration, was breathed forth-Shorn Sharer. While the author was soaking up the "flavor" of Wyoming, in the historic city of Sheridan, non-Election 2000 happened. Unfortunately its fruits remain.within and without the borders of our United States of America-ever engulfing. Following the locking of the ballot box, the constricting of the rights of the American people, and the diluting of the past glory of America's heritage concerning Truth, Honor, and Integrity are there presently an eager embracing of intolerance, fain displays of justness, and new forms of exclusionary practices. Perhaps that self same Spirit that issued in the book Shorn Sharer "sees" merit in this present work bearing "The Flying Africans" motif. "This long ago documented account of a small band of enslaved Africans and their "escape" is Southern legendary folklore that passed into myth, only to become the best kept legendary secrete in American culture. While in Southern fields, so speaks the records of the unique incident, a band of "flying Africans" dropped their hoes, danced about in a ring, and lifted up and flew away home--back to Africa. Mr. Jackson utilizes "The Flying Africans" motif of flight to freedom to underline its "spiritual" thread of "awakening," awareness and growth. He unveils his trilogy through the narrative entitled A Random Act Of Kindness, a combination mystery/thriller/suspense, with a heavy heaping of romance. The first novel of the trio is The Loving Cup. The Loving Cup, a different type of Southern flavor, launches the plight of the abandoned youth, Mildred Loveless, who is suddenly venerable to every underworld figure with designs of immediate profit and immeasurable power. The saga begins: The local police of Savannah, Georgia are in the midst of an International threat to the survival of U.S. America.

The Freemasons Magazine and Masonic Mirror

The John of Gaunt Lodge at Leicester having a loving cup of silver , suitably
decorated , which has been provided by contributions of the members . Earl
Howe , Prov . G.M. , and Master of the Knights of Malta Lodge , seeing this ,
determined to ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 760


Table Talk

They talk of her opening for the purpose of drinking . virtues , her loving ministry
and sacrifice for Until recent years the loving - cup has her children , with new
resolve to honor her held little place in the United States , al memory in their lives
 ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page:

View: 860


The Loving Cup

In the closing years of the wars against Napoleon, for Jeremy and Clowance, and for arrogant, cynical Valentine Warleggan, these are troubled and momentous times.

Author: Winston Graham

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781509857005

Category: Cornwall (England : County)

Page: 608

View: 347

The legendary Poldark saga continues in the tenth book in the series, The Loving Cup, which has become a television phenomenon starring Aidan Turner.Cornwall 1813. A silver cup lies half-forgotten in a dank cave, amongst a pile of stolen goods. Yet the tiny vessel and its inscription Amor gignit amorem haunts the lives of the still-feuding Poldark and Warleggan families, as Ross, Demelza and the ambitious and powerful Sir George Warleggan watch their children make the decisions that will shape their destinies.In the closing years of the wars against Napoleon, for Jeremy and Clowance, and for arrogant, cynical Valentine Warleggan, these are troubled and momentous times.The Loving Cup is followed by the eleventh book in the Poldark series, The Twisted Sword.

The Freemason s Repository

Since this early time , cities and corporations , organizations and societies , as
well as individuals , bave been the honored recipients of Loving Cups , more or
less ornate , but always significant of brotherly feeling and social enjoyment .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 626


An Account of the Proceedings at the Dinner Given by Mr George Peabody to the Americans Connected with the Great Exhibition at the London Coffee House Ludgate Hill on the 27th October 1851

In the Guilds or trading fraternities it was passed from hand to hand as the Loving
Cup . Oxford and Cambridge can both show interesting examples of Antique
Cups bequeathed for their use ; and so can many of our London City Companies
 ...

Author: Henry Stevens

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Great Exhibition

Page: 114

View: 182


Little Lotus and the Loving Kindness Cup

This charming chapter book for children with a Buddhist main character has an inspiring moral message while being entertaining reading for families to experience together.

Author: Susan Tidwell

Publisher: Buddhas Light Pub

ISBN: 9781932293722

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 77

View: 659

Little Lotus's school is having a recycling contest, and the winning class gets to keep Eagle Peak Elementary's golden loving cup for a whole year! Lotus is determined to win the glory for Room 8, Miss Jewel's third grade class, but she must choose between doing the right thing for the environment outside, or the environment inside.After falling into a smelly dumpster, things seem pretty bad, but when Samantabhadra Bodhisattva arrives with a special teaching for her, she discovers the true meaning of success. This charming chapter book for children with a Buddhist main character has an inspiring moral message while being entertaining reading for families to experience together.

Presentation of Loving Cup to Hon Joseph Benson Foraker United States Senator in Appreciation of His Service on Behalf of the Members of Companies A B and C 25th Infantry by a Committee of Colored Citizens

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Riots

Page: 25

View: 916


Punch Or The London Charivari

( By Macaulay Stiggins , C.C. ) Sir W - LL - M H - RC - RT singsCHAPTER I. Fill
the Loving Cup ! Let's be kind and gay Every drop we swallow Whilst the
bumpers warm us . LONDON was founded by King Lud , as everybody knows ;
but As we ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English wit and humor

Page:

View: 916


The Reliquary and Illustrated Archaeologist

Though this cup is of the same general form as the Posset - pot , and may have
been used as such , it may also have been used on occasions of mayoral and
other hospitality as a “ loving - cup , ” or as some would prefer to call it , from its ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Archaeology

Page:

View: 100


Punch

BENCH E STUDENATAAN THE ALLIANCE LOVING CUP . On Monday last week
the Lord Mayor elect was , according to ancient custom , presented , and
described to the LORD CHANCELLOR by the RECORDER . To the descripY the
 ...

Author: Mark Lemon

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Caricatures and cartoons

Page:

View: 341


Prince and the Pauper The Literary Touchstone Classic

The Loving-Cup.* – The loving-cup, and the peculiar ceremonies observed in
drinking from it, are older than English history. It is thought that both are Danish
importations. As far back as knowledge goes, the loving-cup has always been
drunk ...

Author: Mark Twain

Publisher: Prestwick House Inc

ISBN: 1580496725

Category: Adventure stories

Page: 231

View: 388


Glass Pottery World

POTTERS ANI ) DECORATORS A Kisos lisveislOIS TRENTON , N. J. The Story of
the Loving Cup With pictures of all our decorative forms . Booklet sent to the
Trade and to Amateur Ceramic Painters on application . 14 Half Size Illustration
of ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 416